Hero Story - News


National Park Service Announces New American World War II Heritage Cities

National Park Service Announces New American World War II Heritage Cities

11 communities across the United States are newly designated.

The National Park Service recently announced the designation of 11 communities across the United States as American World War II Heritage Cities.

The American World War II Heritage Cities Program honors the contributions of local towns, cities, counties and their citizens who stepped into the workforce to support America's war effort during World War II. Only one American World War II Heritage City can be designated in each state or territory.

The 11 newly designated communities are:

  • Foley, Alabama
  • Tempe, Arizona
  • Richmond, California
  • Wilmington, Delaware
  • Waterloo, Iowa
  • Baltimore County, Maryland
  • Johnson County and Warrensburg, Missouri (joint community nomination)
  • Hastings, Nebraska
  • Boulder City and Henderson, Nevada (joint community nomination)
  • Yonkers, New York
  • Bedford County, Virginia

World War II permeated every aspect of American life and resulted in a large migration of people within the United States. Individuals and families relocated to industrial centers for good-paying war jobs and out of a sense of patriotic duty. Many industrial centers became "boom towns," growing at phenomenal rates. Workers from around the nation had to intermingle with each other and overcome differences to meet war demands, forever changing the cultural landscape of the United States.

Contributions by a city to the World War II home front war effort include defense manufacturing, such as ships, aircraft, uniforms, and equipment; production of food and consumer items for Armed Forces and home consumption; volunteer participation; and civil defense preparedness.

The World War II Heritage Cities program was established by the John D. Dingell, Jr. Conservation, Management, and Recreation Act of 2019 to recognize the historic importance of the United States' domestic involvement in World War II and ensure the continued preservation of a defining period in American history. This year's additions follow the inaugural designation of Wilmington, North Carolina in September 2020.

Read more about military experiences groups will love.

Courtesy of Groups Today.

 Photo Courtesy of the National D-Day Memorial Foundation. 


News Articles

© 2024 Groups Today - All Rights Reserved. Read our   Terms and Conditions