Hero Story - News


New Leadership at ABA

Following the election of the ABA board of directors by the general membership, ABA's board elected a new chairman, vice chairman, and secretary/treasurer during the its recent meeting in St. Louis, Missouri.

John Meier, the president of Badger Bus and Coach, based in Madison, Wisconsin, is ABA's new chairman. Don DeVivo, the president of DATTCO, a motorcoach and transportation company in New Britain, Connecticut, is ABA's vice chairman. Both Meier and DeVivo will serve three-year terms. Craig Lentzsch, the executive chairman of All Aboard America! Holdings in New Orleans, Louisiana, is the new secretary/treasurer. Meier, DeVivo, and Lentzsch have had extensive careers in the motorcoach industry.

The ABA board of directors added three new at-large members to the board's executive committee: Steve Haddad, president/CEO of Bieber Transportation; Gene Berardi, Jr., president/CEO of Adirondack Trailways; and Stephanie Lee, president of Group Sales Box Office/ Across America. In 2015, the board changed its bylaws to include a travel industry board member on its executive committee. Previously, the executive committee had included only bus operator members.

Two new members joined the board for three-year terms. Camilla Morris is the manager of Oneonta Bus Lines, in Oneonta, New York. Terry Fischer is president of Transportation Charter Services in Orange, California.

In addition to his ABA board service, Bryan Cole, president of Super Holiday Tours in Orlando, Florida, was elected to serve a one-year term as ABA's Marketplace Advisory Committee Chairman. ABA's 2016 Marketplace will be held in Louisville, Kentucky, January 9 – 12, 2016.

Four members left the board after the conclusion of their terms. ABA thanks Woody Blunt, Ron Eyre, Sara Hamlin, and Bruce Neuharth for their dedicated service to ABA and the industry. Mr. Blunt and Mr. Eyre were named honorary board members in recognition of their years of distinguished service. Combined, these rotating members had more than seventy years of experience on ABA's board of directors. Both previously served as ABA chairmen.

"ABA and its members are very excited to have John Meier, Don DeVivo, and Craig Lentzsch in key leadership positions within the industry and association. All three have proven themselves to be exceptionally capable motorcoach operators. Their companies always strive to provide passengers with the safest and the best experience. I know John, Don, and Craig's commitment to excellence will continue as they become more involved in the policy and legislative initiatives at ABA in 2015 and beyond," said ABA President and CEO Peter Pantuso. "I am also pleased that Steve, Gene, and Stephanie will take on increased leadership roles within ABA, and we welcome Camilla, Terry, and Bryan to their new positions."


News Articles

© 2024 Groups Today - All Rights Reserved. Read our   Terms and Conditions